British curriculum in PY1 - PY2 (inquiry)

OmarsMum

Reaction score
What do they teach at school? Do they teach grammar & comprehension? As in grammar books and a paragraph to find the answers from? Do they have science books?

I'm asking because my son's school is an IB school, they follow the PYP (primary years program) but the curriculum is British.

My son is not taught grammar or comprehension in a traditional way, unlike other "British schools" that have all those subjects. I studied in a British schools & we had all those subjects & books.

At DS school they have a unit of inquiry, they're studying about the community. This is in addition to math, reading (based on the child's level), tricky words in English (magic words) and spelling (cvc words)

I'm curious to know how they teach in the UK.

Dec was in year 2 last year (primary 3 in Northern Ireland) he was taught grammar and comprehension, he doesnt have a science book, they do topics each term called the world around us these topics include science, geography, history, maths, english and religion.
When you talk of a paragraph to find the answers do you mean read a story/paragraph and answer questions on it??

Decs day would consist of maths, and religion in the morning, the world around us, reading, comprehension work and spellings in the afternoon.