Carrier for a 2 year old who has never been worn before?

AngelofTroy

Reaction score
Hello ladies, I have no experience with baby wearing, but we're taking our very active toddler to Marrakech in December and he still wants to be carried some of the time, I think it would be easier and safer if OH and I could wear him in a carrier some of the time. Where do we start? What sort of carrier is suitable and comfortable? Nothing huge with a frame though as we need to be able to fit it in our suitcase preferably! Is he likely to fight it if he's never been in a carrier before? Is he too old? What would you experienced baby wearers recommend? Thank you xx

I started Babywearing Sophie about 3 months ago, so not as old as your cutie pie will be but still at that stubborn toddler age! I started out with an ergo, which was fine, but I wanted something a bit larger and more colourful. I did use a moby wrap when she was a small baby but that was a while ago.

I settled on a standard sized kinderpack, but she is short, I didn't want to get the toddler size until she was older. The toddler size would be perfect for you I reckon.

I have one with a mesh panel in the middle for air-flow.

What I love about the kinderpack:

the koolnit panel
the colourful designs
the waistband doesn't dig into my stomach
it's very light and can be rolled up into a small shape (perfect for the suitcase)
it has excellent seat shaping
Sophie loves it and is well supported and comfortable
dual adjust buckles on the arm straps makes it much easier than the ergo to adjust strap length when she's on my back
nice wide and well padded shoulder straps
it's soooo comfortable, I can carry her for hours
It turned my OH into a babywearer! He thought it was stupid before
I can even carry my older child in it and he loves it. He'd never been worn before apart from one try with a ring sling when he was 3 months old
the price - it was cheaper than the ergo and is handmade by work at home mums