• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Confused OPK question--days of faint lines before O?

pbl_ge

LTTTC #1 AL
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to the OPK world, and I've been using them for three days (CD9-11). I usually don't O until CD17, but I've had some unusual months post-mc, so I can't be sure. On basically every stick I've gotten a faint line (except once when I hadn't waited as long as I should). Is that typical? It's not getting lighter or darker, but just staying faint.

Does anyone get faint lines for several days before O? Any other ideas? I'd love some input!

Hi pbl_ge. I've never used OPK's but from what I understand there's always some luteinizing hormone in your system, which is why you get the faint line. However, the line needs to be just as dark or darker than the control line (that's when the OPK is considered to be positive) to clock the surge which signals ovulation.

I'm sorry if that's clear as mud. I'm sure one of these other more knowledgeable ladies that actually have OPK experience will weigh in :) . Good luck!

Yes it's true, you will normally see a faint line on days before the true positive which is unmistakeable. Keep POAS!

Thanks, ladies! Some people had mentioned they never get anything but faint lines, so I got worried. :flower:

I now understand the POAS addiction better!

Hello! Personally my line never gets as dark as the control. It`s just very faint at first, gets darker, then goes faint again - since you have your surge 24-36h before ovulation, I figure I ovulate the dark the line grows fainter.