cord around the neck of fetus

baker123

Reaction score
This query is for my wife .
She is now 8 months pregnant , And in recent scan there was a remark saying that ,
"Two loops of cord around the neck of fetus".
doctor told , nothing much to worry but keep observing the baby movement and there is a chance of C-section also.

i want to know ,
1:what was the reason this situation happened..?
2:is there any extra care we have to do in following days..?

thanks in advance

I would do some research, as far as I was aware it's reasonably common and rarely is a c section required, I'm no expert though so I would ask the doctor for an explanation!

I heard this actually happens alot and usually the doctors just slip the cord away from the neck when coming out...two loops tho? Not sure. Good luck. If anything call the doctor and have her explain more so you don't worry!

I had my baby 2 weeks ago after being induced and needing forceps-neither of which was due to the cord and it hadn't been seen on any scans-we'd had a lot due to previous loss. When she came out she had the cord looped round twice. We were on the consultant led unit and they took her off the the side unlooped it and she was fine. They did checks on her oxygen levels for a few hours but that was also due to meconium in her waters after being 2 weeks overdue. The midwife said it's actually very common. When she was inside she was very active so looking back it doesn't surprise me-my husband actually said about the possibility a couple of weeks before the due date. Will you have another scan nearer the due date? And possibly be on a consultant led unit? Good luck.x

I that is one of my fears, so I researched it s bit. It's very common. About 1/3 babies are born with cord around neck. It shouldn't be an issue when the cord is healthy. It's strong enough to not be compressed, even through labor. Your child gets circulation & oxygen through the cord at the moment.