Daugher born 29w5days - also lingo question...

MissMuffet08

Mom to Katelyn & Madelyn
Reaction score
Hi! My daughter Katelyn was born on April 7th at 29weeks and 5 days. Her EDD was June 18th. I went to the hospital on April 5th because I was nervous about how often she was kicking and it turned out that I had developed severe preeclampsia. Two days later they were performing an emergency c-section. This is my first child.

She has been doing pretty well so far. I did have a few questions -

1. Does anyone else feel judged by the nurses in the NICU if on some days you are not there for 8 or more hours?

2. Does post partum depression kick in more on some days than others?

3. What does corrected age mean?

I am very new to all this and would love some advice.

Thanks!

1. Does anyone else feel judged by the nurses in the NICU if on some days you are not there for 8 or more hours?

2. Does post partum depression kick in more on some days than others?

3. What does corrected age mean?

I am very new to all this and would love some advice.

Thanks!

Hiya hun. Congrats on Katelyn!!! You'll get loadsa support here!!!

1. thing is - we all do what we can to try and lead an as-close-to-normal life. The alarms drive some crazy for a start. One mum might be there 24/7 but another may even visit every second day due to financial constraints, physical ability or distance. And the NICU have seen all these situations, so they would never judge!!!

2. Its early days for post partum depression hun, but it's only natural that you could be dealing with. 'baby blues' . You will feel up and down - you're delighted with your new arrival, but sad that it's this way. It's a rollercoaster- not just in NICU but your feelings too

3. Corrected age will be when your LO hits their due date. So one day after her due date would be 1 day old corrected.

Eg. When Katelyn is 6 months old, (legally/actual age) she will also be 3 months corrected age

Hope that makes sense!!!