Does where you got your degree make a difference?

daneuse27

Reaction score
This question is mainly geared towards US/UK ladies (or anywhere outside Canada.)

If you get a degree from a prestigious university; say Harvard, Oxford, Princeton, etc.. are you more likely to be considered for job opportunities later on? For example, an employer might give more weight to an applicant who's a graduate from Oxford as opposed to an average university simply because its Oxford? And does having a degree from an upscale uni open up doors that you might not otherwise have?

Thanks!

I think it depends what you want to do afterwards and what you are studying. In my teaching career nobody has cared where I got my degree but previously I worked in pharmaceuticals and academia and there it mattered more. I got my BSc and MSc in an ex polytechnic and although I was lucky to have had a placement year at a large company which helped me get interviews afterwards it was definitely brought up in some interviews where I got my degree and why I didn't go to a Russell group uni. One place I worked said outright I only got the job because my degree was a 1:1 and my MSc was with distinction whereas they have taken someone from a better uni with a 2:1 and possibly less. In academia I wouldn't have got anywhere if my PhD hadn't come from a more prestigious uni. It has also opened up more opportunities because in some cases it really does matter who and not what you know. I have had several opportunities abroad based solely on who I have studied with/known and not what I know.

That said however I know people who have studied different courses like games design etc and the best universities to study it are not the most prestigious.

It depends on the industry. I'd say law, politics, accountancy etc... Definately yes but generally most employers often don't even ask.