Few problems with my 3 year old

EmSmith1980

4 plus 1 on the way
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this part of the forum, I'm usually in Premature Babies.

I want to ask a few questions about my 3 year old.

In Scotland kids can start school at 4.5. My 3yo (Lennox) is a January birthday so will be slightly over 4.5yo. I've never thought twice about him starting school at this age. He's extremely bright, an excellent talker, can write his name and many other letters, and numbers. He is my 3rd born out of 4. However he can be very hyperactive. He doesn't sit still for longer than 5 mins, even at meal times. He constantly has to be running and jumping off things. He doesn't seem to have much of an attention span either. He talks constantly (although so do I and my oldest two children).

He started nursery at the end of April, and just started back mid august. His group teacher pulled me aside, and asked if I'd thought about deferring Lennox by a year. I asked why she thought I would, and she said "he is VERY withdrawn". This has thrown me into a complete panic. He has never ever been described as withdrawn. I asked how his behaviour otherwise is and she said he's extremely well behaved. (This wasn't the case before the summer hols, I was getting pulled aside because he was so boisterous). I tried to ask more questions to this teacher, but she brushed me off and said "oh we'll talk about it some other time, and I'll give you a leaflet", then walked away.

Has anyone any experience of behaviour like this? It seems like two extremes. :nope:

xx

Sorry i don't have any experience of the behaviour but in my opinion i think it is very early to be talking about deferring a child for there behaviour so early into a term.

If he is withdrawn then surely getting him involved in school is the best thing to do and if there are any problems the school will be the best people to assess him IYKWIM.

You definatly need to get more details from the teacher or the school x