• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

For those who have to / chose to work outside the home

younglove

Cautiously Pregnant
Reaction score
What are some of the benefits of going back to work after having a baby?

We are planning to TTC in April for our first child. I've gone over our finances and I don't think we could afford for me to be a SAHM for more than a 12-18 months. DH doesn't make enough to support us and has little job security. I have a university degree, a professional designation and a very good job (high pay, benefits, vacation leave, etc.). If I left my job, it might take me years to get a similar job because the field is competitive and the economy here is not very good. We would also struggle financially. This would really scare me.

So I will probably be going back to work part-time or full-time after taking maternity leave. I'm not sure whether my manager would let me work part-time but I will try hard to convince her.

My mom and MIL were both SAHMs for many years. My mom ran a daycare. I guess I'm a bit jealous that my father and FIL made enough for my mother and MIL to be SAHMs. My DH doesn't make enough and we would struggle. I know it's not fair to put that kind of pressure on him.

I've always dreamt of being a SAHM but I might also regret giving up a career I'm proud of. Continuing to work will also allow me to better provide for my family over the short-term and long-term (10, 20, 30 years from now).