Good Jobs with No quals??

Abz1982

Mum to 2 nutters!
Reaction score
How do people do it? (and yes I AM jealous!)

I dont have a degree, I only have my Highers and some NC units. My sister doesnt even have standard grades and has no professional qualifications.

Ive been working since 2003, she has worked since 2007

I am basically.....the lowest employee on 21k (FT salary), I did run my dept for 4 months back in 2011 before they got a new member of staff and I have been there for 6 years this July.

My sister has just been promoted to a senior with supervisory responsibility and is on 34k a year.

She does have a high stress job sending folk offshore, mine its kinda sales and orders so my stress is getting a multi $$ orders quoted, manufactured and shipped. My senior is on nearly 30k as well .

I feel that because I am NOT willing to back stab, cant stay there till 11pm at night and have kids I am completely treated like a second class employee and the lack of reward/recognition for when I have achieved things has made me stop caring.

This hasnt helped :(. I just feel like why did I even go to school! What good has it done me!?!?! I should have left at 13 like my sister.

It wil be the company she works for. My best friend is a pilot up in Aberdeen, he flies the to the rigs and back.
He gets 3 times more than he did in the army.

Have you considered looking else where, comparing your salary to others doing the same job.

I do think the fact that you are limited to when you can work will have an impact, I don't think they are necessarily treated you like a second class employee, but, you have limitations intermes of what you can offer them.

I understand having kids shouldn't hold you back, however in the real world if a company needs an employee who can work until 11pm it doesn't matter how good you are, yu are never going to promotes to that position, and it will always be the person who can commit more fully