Gym/weight training and exhaustion.

Orchid83

42 WEEKS!!!
Reaction score
I was a frequent gym goer before falling pregnant, weight training 3 times a week.

Since falling pregnant I've not slowed down the frequency, just adjusted a few excercises (i.e more appropriate abdominal workout, and no heavy arm extentions above my head). And I rest for longer between reps to make sure I regulate my body temperature.

All is well, and apart from some normal dizzyness, which is easily corrected by eating a bit more before my workout, I still get a good workout.

But, afterwards I end up suuuuper fatigued, to the point of wanting to fall asleep for an hour. It passes in an hour or two, but want to know if there is any way to prevent/alleviate this?

I am an avid weight trainer and bodybuilder, I have been for many years.

Truthfully, my advice is to perhaps lay off the gym for the first trimester when you are experiencing the fatigue & dizzyness. Looking back, I shouldn't have kept going, because my body was using soooo much energy to build the baby!

When you hit 12-14 weeks, I promise this feeling will pass and you will be in the second trimester honeymoon stage (you will feel super energized to workout).

If you insist on continuing in the first trimester, my recommendation is to really up the carb intake. How many calories are you eating? I (was) 5'5 and 121lbs, I started my calories at a minimum of 2,200 - you really need them when you combine weight training and first trimester sicknesses!

Wow, didn't realise I needed that many calories! I am probably taking in about 1500 on a good day (appetite has diminished), although I take a good pregnancy multivitamin and folic acid. I weigh 147lbs, at 5'6.