Help! Weaning nightmare!

charlotteb24

Noah & William's Mummy
Reaction score
Hi there!

My little boy is now 4 months old and due to him always being hungry, the HV has suggested we put him onto some solids.

I first of all tried making my own, puree carrots which didnt go down too well, so we left it a few days and tried really puree'd potato which he ate ok for a few days and then started spitting out.

I put it down to my cooking and bought some of the ready made stage 1 pots to no avail as he has hated all of them.

I have now put him onto heinz farleys pure baby rice made up with his SMA white. He will drink it if i put it in with his bottle (which defeats the object) but as soon as i try and feed him with a spoon he won't take it and spits it out all over the place.

What on earth do i do? looking back i did things the wrong way around and should have tried baby rice first but i'm new at this and the HV was rubbish about helping!

Please, any suggestions?

Could he just be going through a growth spurt? The 3-4month one is a biggy!

Could be, but he has never been satisfied by his milk, even the extra hungry stuff, feeding him every hour and a half surely isn't good for him? Its been like that since he was about 3/4 weeks old!
Though it could be a growth spurt i guess, who knows! but i think it would stave off his bottles every 1.5 hours if he did eat solids. I dunno what to do!

i wouldn't recommend putting rice into bottles, could be a choking hazzard.

Liams feeds have been hectic some days he'l just drink n drink n drink hence why I had to stop BF at 10 weeks, the hungry milk helped a bit

Started offering him some baby rice (which he doesnt like) HV suggested putting a hint off apple puree in with the rice (not loads just a little) and he took to it, then eventually got him onto full rice without the apple puree.

His routine at the moment is:-

5:30 - bottle then back to bed

10:30 - bit of baby rice and bottle