• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Home birth after induction, epidural, episiotomy and forceps?

Snufkin

Reaction score
Hello!

My first birth didn't go to plan at all...I ended up 2 weeks over due and was induced for post-dates, labour wasn't progressing and I was exhausted, so asked for an epidural, a few hours later still not much progress and my pushing was ineffective so I ended up having a forceps assisted delivery with an episiotomy. Fun fun.

Anyway, I won't be agreeing to an induction again so easily and am hoping for a home birth (though I may change my mind and go to the midwife led unit instead). I've not had my first appointment yet, so I have no idea if my previous experience may be a problem. Does anyone have any positive home birth after induction/forceps stories? I'd really appreciate them.

I'm in the UK.

Thanks! :flower:

I don't know if I'll be any help but I had a ventouse and episiotamy delivery with my first and when I spoke to the midwife at my booking in about a home birth she said the fact that I had ventouse wasn't a problem as you're much less likely to need that sort of intervention 2nd time round.

That is great help, actually! Thanks! My booking in appointment isn't until another 3 weeks, so it's good to know my first experience likely won't jeopardise my future home birth plans! :)

I hope you get your home birth. If you check out homebirth.org they have a list of Q&A and stories from ladies who have had similar experiences