Homebirth in Mexico

4goingon5

Reaction score
We have been planning a move to rural central Mexico in August for months now. We just had our bfp a couple days ago, so we're due Nov 30th. This will be our fifth baby, so I feel like I'm a seasoned pro at childbirth by now. My first was all natural but in a hospital. My 2nd, 3rd, and 4th were in hospital with epidural and whole nine yards. My first was the most pleasant experience of the four, so we are planning to go natural this time as well.
Not to mention, I have scar tissue from all those epidurals, and the last time, the anesthesist said he was having a really hard time finding a way in around all the scar tissue, and advised me to not try having another epidural anyway.
Plus, we will be living FAR from any hospital, and there are NO shoulders on those mountainous roads, so the only way I can conceive of having a hospital birth there would be a planned induction, which I hate the thought of.
Besides, I am not crazy about the idea of giving birth in a 3rd world hospital.
So I'm thinking homebirth.
Am I crazy to consider this? I know what my family will say. When we announced our bfp, they replied "oh, so the move to Mexico is DEFINITELY cancelled", as if that were an undebatable fact.
I'm sure we can find a midwife there. I have never had any complications before. What do ya'll think?
Oh, and another thing is, we do EVERYTHING as a family, we homeschool, we cook together, I mean everything! And our children are always so disappointed to be left out while Mommy has to go to the hospital to have the baby. I see NO REASON why our children should not be present during the birth of their new sibling. It's the most miraculous event anyone can ever experience, and I think it is just ridiculous that siblings are not allowed in the delivery room. But our doctors have always looked at me like they think I'm crazy when I ask for even ONE of my children to be present.