How much time before and after birth are you taking off?

Mabv812

Reaction score
I'm 22 weeks right now and just starting to think about how much time I'll take off. I know for sure after the birth. But I can't decide how much to take off before the birth. What's has worked for you in the past or have you heard worked well for most? (California mom here) Tia!

I have had 3 babies and have worked up till the day i've given birth with all 3 of them. With my first two I took 6 weeks off, and with my third I took 8 weeks. This baby is my last so I think i'm going to take about 10... maybe the full 12 FMLA allows. I'm not really sure. I'm a teacher and I'm thinking about going back the first of November (i'm due Aug. 25), so we'll see how many weeks that ends up being once the baby is born.

I'm a teacher in CA. Per my contract my leave starts on my due date. If I need to be out before my due date, I need a doctor's official recommendation. My old district used to allow up to a week before due date. Luckily for me, I'm due in July and school ends in 12 school days. So I'll be off at 34 weeks.

As for going back, I get 45 school days off (using my paid/sick leave then going on differential pay). You are entitled to FMLA up to 12 weeks (the district leave equates to about 9). Still trying to understand the verbiage lol. We start school 8/30 (baby will be 4nweeks if he comes on his EDD), and then the 45 days takes me to end of October. But I'm going back mid October so I can be prepared for conferences and observations. So 4 weeks of summer vacation plus 6 weeks of mat leave, I'll be going back when baby is 10 weeks. I'm still on the fence about staying out the whole 45 school days (takes me to 13.5 weeks). But my mortgage is $3200/month so differential pay will hurt. So leaning towards mid October

I'm childless, and completely oblivious to the laws around this...

But 6 weeks? Props to you!! That's a short amount of time where I'm from.