How young is TOO young?

Mrs.LaVergne

Reaction score
Hello Ladies, I am 20 years old, been married for two and a half years and I am a full time student. My husband has a stable full time job and we do okay for ourselves. Lately I have been thinking alot about TTC seriously, but everytime I mention it to anyone, family especially, I get the disappointed looks and words or discouragement. Several of my friends are married and have children and they are doing fine. They have support of their families and friends. But all of the negative reactions I get have been making me feel almost ASHAMED :shrug: of wanting to TTC. Has anyone else ever felt this way? Any advice?

To be honest, if you feel you're ready and that you and your DH are in the right place I would advise just going for it. It's not your peers choice to make a baby, it's yours and you don't need their approval because you'll make a great parent :)

DH and I are both 22 and supporting ourselves. We've been together ~7 years and married since August 2010. Still, we are not telling anyone about TTC. It is very private decision. We will tell friends and family at an appropriate time when we get pregnant. You never know ow long ta going to take, so by the time you get pregnant the situation may be different anyway. If you two feel like you're ready an are supporting yourselves, then you have the right to make you own decision.