I am new to the preemie section...

Sakura-chan

Reaction score
Hi all

I just introduced my baby, Shion (pronounced shee-on- It`s Japanese) Isaac in the VIP section but thought I better introduce myself as well.

I live in Japan but am from Australia originally and have one son, Noah James aged almost 13 months and a second son, Shion Isaac born last Thursday night almost 9 weeks early weighing 1730 grams.

He is now in the NICU at a university hospital with an expected stay of anywhere from 4-9 weeks.

I am expressing milk for him (although currently he is on just 25ml every three hours) six times a day and getting 600-750ml daily. Due to the commute to the hospital (not to mention running around after my 13 month old) I am finding it hard to express more times than this but try to do it every 2.5-3 hours during the day (except where there is a 4 hour gap when I go to the hospital) and pumping at 11pm then waking up once overnight to pump at about 3am. I am concerned my supply won`t be enough when he does finally get to come home.

It is such a scary time- I went into labour suddenly and quickly (and he was born less than 15 minutes after I arrived at the hospital and when I kept asking if he was alive before he came out the doctor told me they couldn`t get a heartbeat which was incredibly scary) and we are not at all prepared for his homecoming.

My first son is finding the whole thing very hard as I have to leave him for a couple hours each day when I go to the hospital and also because he was sick when I was in the hospital when I gave birth he didn`t see me for 3 days and each day I feel like I abandon each of my sons at different time.

Hopefully I can find comfort and support here (I have to say that my friends and family in RL have been fantastic but I know it is hard for them to understand exactly what I am going through)

Thanks

Hi there! Congratulations on the arrival of Shion, what a lovely name!!!