i'm considering cloth diapers

nada87

Reaction score
i know nothing about cloth diapers except for when my little brother was a baby (and those were the kind you have to fold and pin) and my neice 5 years ago (i baby sat one night and changed her 2 times and didnt know i had to put a cover on so she leaked everywhere) i have no experience. now that lo isn't going thru diapers like crazy (maybe 6 a day) i'm thinking maybe cloth might be a good idea. i have yet to bring it up to dh tho so any arguements to support it would be good. mainly i was wondering how many i would need and estimates on how much an inital supply would cost. i don't have alot of time for doing laundry (usually dedicate one day a week to doing 8 loads) so is it still feasable to do cloth?

If you use prefolds & covers it can work out a LOT cheaper - you change the prefold and if the cover is clean, you can reuse it with a new prefold :)

You can also stock up on these so you don't have to do laundry as often - and handwashing is also a lot easier if you suddenly find you need a couple of extra diapers to last until you get the laundry done.

I am in the US (assuming you're in the UK??? Although you may not be! If not, check out cottonbabies.com for prefolds if you want to try them out!) so obviously the prices will vary a little (and be in a different currency :lol:) but I bought 6 prefolds for $1 each with free shipping just to try them out - got 7 covers second hand (Thirsties Duos Size 1 - they are adjustable so they last longer, you can snap the rise in different places for growing baby - I would recommend them, the leg gussets keep wee & poop in very well!) for $50 (remember that they can be wiped and reused a couple of times (unless LO has an explosive poop all over them!) before having to wash them).