is this heart rate really low?

BabiesOneDay

Reaction score
Red spotting last night so I went to the ER. Cervix was closed. Bleeding stopped. No cramps. HCG was over 22000, up from 14737 around 36 hours before. Ultrasound showed baby with heart rate of 100bpm. Er dr has me worried saying that's low. Spoke w my midwife today and she agreed. So I have to wait until Wednesday to get another ultrasound. In the meantime I'm really concerned why they say it's low when everything I am reading online, including studies and medical journals, says a normal fetal heart rate at 6w is 90-110. Based on lmp of 3/14 I was 5w 5d yest but based on ovulation I could've been two days ahead at 6w on the dot. Either way... Is 100 really low?

I'm no doctor but I read that normal heart rate is between 120 to 170. I hate to use the word "normal" bc every baby n pregnancy is so different. There's always exception so I'm hoping the best for you. One thing I learned through my miscarriages is you can't really compare your situation to someone elses. Pregnancy complication is an ongoing mystery. I hope baby's heart beat picks up n you end up with a healthy baby.

When I had my dating ultrasound I was around 6w5d and my bubs heart rate was 114. Three weeks later at my 10 week appt it was 168. I would think if your dates were off a little and your not quite as far along as you think then it could be ok for being so early. A lot of women spot and their baby is fine. Try not too worry too much until you next scan. Stay away from Google....it's evil. :hugs: