Is university with a baby achievable?

Ella

Mama to my amazing boy :)
Reaction score
So I went to a Uni Fair on Weds and I fell in love with a course.. At University College of London :( like over a hundred miles away from home.. and Alex. :cry:

I woul be doing a degree in Italian (I did get an A in it at school!) and it would mean spending my third year away in Italy, either at a Uni over there, teaching or at a work placement.

Alex & I are hoping to have a baby on the way in the next year, and regardless of the course I choose.. Is a degree really achievable with a young child? :shrug:
xx

Well, I am in my final year of a language degree and me and my partner have been together for nearly 5 years. We have talked about having a baby very often, but have waited as I feel it is better to get my education out of the way and then concentrate on my family.

I have found my language degree very difficult and would not have wanted the added commitments of raising a child on top of all that. Also, the year abroad is a very difficult emotional experience, or it was for me, especially if you have a lot of things going off at home. That is just my opinion though!

If you wanted a baby whilst doing a degree, I would recommend the open uni, as at least with that you can work towards your goal at you own pace.

Just an example, but before the aster holiday I had 4 essays and 2 exams in one week, and then in the next couple of weeks I have got 7 exams and more coursework due in.

Sorry I also meant to say, sorry for souding negative; its great you are so in love and want to have a baby, but I just feel that sometimes, taking to huge steps in your life like that at the same time can sometimes have unwanted consequences!