lots of BH = body making progress towards labor?

brittany12

Mommy x’s 2
Reaction score
I've been getting a good bit of BH tonight.. Does this possibly mean my body is gearing up and maybe making progress towards the start of labor? I know it could still be weeks but right now any progress would make me feel better!

It might be! I got loads leading the weeks up to my previous labours.
They can also come on if you are dehydrated so make sure you are drinking enough water x

I hope so Brittany!
( I have no experience to offer as I was induced at 41+3 and 41+1 so I'm not a 'go into labor' or 'produce a baby around my due date' kinda girl). Honestly it can happen overnight, so maybe you're close. No dialation, doesn't matter labor can still happen tomorrow, Braxton hicks, labor can start tomorrow. For some women it's like a switch flips and boom it just starts. Hoping maybe she cooks one more week then comes for ya! Checking for your updates :)

Just an aside, my baby ( by US) and my fundal height have been measuring 2 wkS ahead the whole time. EVERY appt my dr measures and says whoa, you're ahead, bet this baby will come early for you! ( I had a diff OB my last 2 preg so these drs have no idea....) I just roll my eyes and am like, no, it's not gonna come early. Heck, it's not gonna even come on time.
I remember you getting sick of hearing people telling you to just " enjoy while you can" and haha I'm gonna slap the dr the next time they tell me this again, prolly my next appt!

haha! yeah, well I had my apt today and I am 1cm dilated, but he didn't say anything about being effaced all he said was "I don't feel her head yet" which was weird because my last two appointments he told me her head was very low, but no progress had been made.

so now I'm getting all these "1cm dilated doesn't mean anything" comments.. but they just don't know that to me it means a lot. It means I haven't been in pain and with all this horrible pressure for no reason!