Please help me get my 5 month old out of my bed and into a cot!

LDC

Reaction score
hi all,

I feel like I'm in such a mess :(

I have a 5 month old who Co sleeps....not even my plan it just fell that way with breastfeeding and being so tired as he wakes every 1.5-2 hours and I have a dd to look after in the day too.

d's would never sleep in his moses basket nor his cot so we fell into the Co sleeping habit which I've never done before.

I really want him in his cot (it's in our room) and on his own now but I'm struggling as he is unpredictable with his sleep and won't self settle.

I put him in his cot for his nap today for the first time and he slept for 30 minutes.

tonight I've tried for 3.5 hours to get him in his cot but he's not having it. He's slept 3 times at most for 20 minutes, the other two times literally 5 minutes.

I'll shush pat him and cuddle if really distressed then put back.

my oh just says "he's always going to be like this, it's a rod you've made".

Please help me :( xxx

Firstly, that was really mean what your OH has said. That's very untrue and unsupportive and meant to make you feel bad and guilty.

I've bed shared with all of mine and it's never been a 'rod for my own back' and the older two have quite happily transitioned to big beds. Nothing lasts forever. You don't generally see elderly people pushing their adult children around in prams and changing their nappies either!

I'm not sure if 5 months is a great age for trying to get baby out of your bed though. A lot goes on with how a baby sleeps in the brain at this age. Are you open to perhaps trying again in a few months, or is it totally driving you crazy?

Thanks minties.

I don't mind him in with me so much, I actually like our cuddle time!