Please tell me your experiences with coffee/TTC

chocolatechip

Reaction score
I know there's all sorts of contradictory articles out there about caffeine, TTC, and pregnancy.

I'd like to hear from any ladies who already have little ones.

Did you drink coffee while TTC? How about before TTC? If so, how much? Is one cup of coffee per day really okay?

I've always been a coffee drinker and didn't stop when ttc either time. We didn't have any trouble conceiving, I think it took one and three cycles respectively. One cup of coffee is deemed safe for pregnancy so I don't really see it being a problem ttc. And that's one cup of filter coffee as well, instant or espresso will have less caffeine.

I drank coffee as normal while TTC and also all through my pregnancy. I was comfortable with the guidelines (<200 mg a day). I'm a health scientist, so I searched for the studies on caffeine and pregnancy and I was comfortable that there wasn't any risk at the levels I was consuming it (there was one study that didn't show added risk until like 7 cups a day! I would have a stroke if I had 7 cups a day - so my feeling was if I felt fine, my baby would be fine).

I would have a cup of coffee/shot of espresso pretty much every day, on occasion, I might have two. Espresso actually has less caffeine on average than a cup of filtered/pressed coffee, so I often opted for espresso drinks (just be sure to ask them to only use one shot or ask for one shot of regular and one of decaf if you want it stronger, lots of places use a double shot in their espresso based drinks).

I got pregnant easily (2nd cycle off after 13 years on BC). I was 32 at the time. I had an easy pregnancy and a healthy baby. I plan to do the same next time. Incidentally, the week I got pregnant was over a bank holiday and we had off most of that week, so I went out drinking almost every night and drank way more than I normally would have (plus the coffee).