Possible NEC???

Jen1802

Mum to 2 and pregnant!
Reaction score
Does anyone out there have any experience with a preemie with NEC? The doctors were slightly concerned Juno possibly had an infection of some kind yesterday but her results came back ok. Then this am they said she had a really mucuous type poo which they were slightly concerned about and kept mentioning NEC. They've retested her bloods which seem fine but are waiting bacteria culture test results which probably won't be back till tomorrow. They started her on an iv antibiotic this pm just in case. I'm so scared she might actually have this as all the information I could find on the internet was really quite morbid and I'm just terrified now....just when everything is going well something has to happen:cry::cry:

:hugs: I have no personal experience of NEC although they were concerned Holly had it a couple of times but didn't. If caught early enough it's usually treated with 10 days of antibiotics and no feeds. The first nicu unit I was in was a surgical one therefore there was quite a few babies who had stoma's due to NEC. From the couple of people I was friendly with one had his reversed at 35 weeks and the other at 6 weeks corrected. Both are thriving now.

I hope your lo gets better soon xxx

Thank you! Its good to know if its caught early it can be treated with just the antibiotics...everything I was reading online was going on about 25% morbidity rate and it resulting in preforations in the bowel...I rang the hospital there to see how she's been since I left this afternoon and she's been behaving herself! A few loose bowel movements but no mucous thank god! I hope its down to a simple infection which will go away and nothing as serious as nec! xo

hi jen1802