Proximal 18q deletion syndrome/Ring 18p deletion syndrome

sequeena

Winging it.
Reaction score
Does anyone here or their child have either of these? Or know someone who does? I've been researching different syndromes for months and believe I've finally found what Thomas may have. I'm not a doctor of course and don't have the necessary equipment to diagnose but everything fits. I'm sure it's one of these 2 syndromes. If I had to say which one I'd say ring 18p. We are meeting the geneticist on the 28th so I just want to be prepared. What are your experiences?

Also if anyone is interested in what made me research this syndrome it is the fact my son has bilateral shoulder dimples. It's quite rare apparently. Funny how one little thing can spiral into other things. It's fascinating.

I do know someone with a chromosomal disorder of the 18th chromosome. I am not sure specifically which disorder she has. I don't know about dimples, but she is short with a small head and lower jaw, plus has some other physical features that set her apart. I think she had a club foot as a toddler.

She's about 28 and just moved out of home and works part time. Her mental age is about that of a four year old, but her mother threw her against a wall as an infant so she is also brain damaged.

Thanks minties. That's so sad :(

Thomas has several characteristics of the syndrome including developmental and intellectual disabilities, deformity of the hand, hernia, bilateral shoulder dimples, hypotonia, dysmorphic features (deep set eyes low set ears small chin and mid facial hypoplasia), possible seizures and so much more.

I know it will take a while for us to get a diagnosis that is if we ever do have one. I just need to know.