random queston. can twins share a bed?

BabyMamma93

Mummy of a Easter baby
Reaction score
I am really curious, i dont have twins, nor am i having twins and it is extremely unlikely i will have twins.. but i see these cute pics of twins sharing a crib, and i wonder, can they do this? is it safe? i do believe it makes sense as they are together growing for 9 months (or less) and it would be cruel to just automatically seperate them, but IDK im just curious and maybe a little nosey really..

i do think they look so cute together in a crib though, and i love the video i once saw on new born baby twins in water cuddling like they would in the womb..

My wee cousins, who are 6 and both girls have separate beds (in the same room) however haven't slept separately since their mum tried to put them in their own beds at the age of 2. Before that they had shared a large cot.

I can only assume (as I've no personal experience) this would make perfect sense for newborns- as they don't roll around yet. As they get bigger though, if even one twin is like my LO- then I'd have to seperate them! My LO was ALL over her crib the moment she was at all mobile - and I'd guess bumping or rolling into your twin all night might not be ideal-- then again, maybe some twins are just used to it and sleep more soundly that way ;)

I've always wondered that too. I would think there would be a risk of SIDS related to that? Maybe no different than a mother and baby co-sleeping though.

It's safe for twins to share a cot so long as there is no significant difference in size.

When my twin brothers were born the midwife said to put them into the same cot for the first few days as it could be strange for them to be separated right away but after that they never shared a cot or a bed or anything.