Recurrent miscarriage clinic cancelled

Bumpontherun

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

We have been TTC #3 since Feb 2016. After a chemical and 3 losses between 6 and 7 weeks I was referred to the recurrent miscarriage clinic about four months ago.

I am now 15 weeks pregnant - had 3 scans so far and all seems ok. I got a letter today telling me that my referral has been cancelled because of this. Am I right to feel a bit annoyed about this? My current pregnancy is still far from succesful and I wonder if the results of any of the investigations they might perform could impact on my pregnancy. Presumeably if I lose this baby I have to go back to the end of the waiting list - I'm 36 and time is ticking away.

Does anybody else have any experience of this or advice - I'm wondering if I should contact the clinic and ask that I be seen.

Hi, I've no direct experience of recurrent referrals but one of my friends also had her recurrent miscarriage referral cancelled after getting passed twelve weeks so I think it might be what happens.

2nd tri losses are treated very differently to first tri losses. I lost my baby at 19 weeks nearly two weeks ago and the hospital have taken lots of bloods from me to test for thyroid, genetics, clotting and various other disorders. They've also taken swabs and urine and the placenta has also gone for tests. We could've had a post mortem on the baby too. so I don't think you're necessarily losing out by having the referral cancelled.

Hope this helps and I hope I haven't worded it too clumsily, my mind is all over the place.

They do standard tests like thyroid, clotting and I think that's it. Mine came back clear so had no idea why I had the losses.

Also, I don't think they can do some of the tests while you are pregnant - i had to wait a certain number of weeks after the miscarriage to have them.

And also, I don't think the thyroid and clotting etc would be an issue now as you are well into the second trimester :)