Searching for a Midwife HELP!

LockandKey

Reaction score
My DH and I recently started NTNP for #2, and let's just say that my first birth went horrible!!! Absolutely dreadful! I felt as if I had no control over the situation, it was a nightmare come true with lasting effects that followed us even after the birth was done and over with. I would love to drastically change that the next time around. Since falling pregnant could happen any time now for us from this point on, I got to thinking what kind of birth I would like and what I can do about it. Since I had assisted vaginal hospital birth the 1st time, I would love to have a midwife this time in a birthing center, preferred water birth, and potential hypo birth. I did a quick search on the internet, but was having trouble finding anything nearby us. I am completely new to trying to find a good midwife and birth center near me.

I was wondering what you ladies did in order to find your perfect midwife? What process did you go through? Anything you recommend? Anything else you want to tell me? I am pretty new to this with almost no information, so anything helpful you can think of, please share.

I really don't want to go into this completely blind. This will more than likely be the last time I give birth, so I was really hoping to get the birth experience I wanted this time. Please help!

It's very possible you won't be able to find a local birthing center (I'm in Colorado, pretty au naturale state, and there is only one here and it is further than I felt comfortable driving). But, you could look into home birth. There are a lot of midwives in West Virginia (google Midwives Alliance of West Virginia and they can put you in touch with a few).