sending children to school ill.

kerrie24

me,him and 3 lo's
Reaction score
We were told yesterday in assembly that now it is a legal requirement to send your children to school even if they are ill. Then the school decides whether or not to send them home! Surely this is rubbish because a) I am capable of making that decision myself.b) things will just spread lije wildfire and c) what happens if you do drop them off ill,just get to work and then school phones you to go back and collect them? Making a poorly child get up dressed and into school is ridiculous! My son goes to an academy and they like to aim for 95% attendance,however at the children's primary school they aim for 99% and currently have kids in vomiting,with chicken pox and shingles! How do they expect the germs to ever go away when they keep them in unnecessarily!

Seriously???!! That's the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard! The germs will never go away and they'll end up having even more absence.
I work in a school and this is the first I've heard of this 'legal requirement'. Since when have teachers included medical training in their teacher training? I certainly don't remember any!
My school would be very cross with a parent who brought in a vomitting child.
x

It's not something our school does.
It's just going to help spread the germs.

Last week my DD was poorly when she woke up (long story short but when she gets overtired she appears ill but after an extra couple of hours sleep is then fine). I had to take her with me to take DS to school so I went into the office to say she wouldn't be going in and why. They were fine about it. By lunchtime she was 100% fine and asking to go to school so I took her in.

I have never heard of this before. I find it rediculous. There is a child in Joshua's class that could be hospitalised (has been in a number of occasions) if he catches a vomiting bug. Surely this legal requirement would be putting him at immediate risk?