Sexual Discrimination.. Or?

moomoo

Mumma to 2 & 1 in heaven!
Reaction score
Hi all! This is my first thread here in an age, but wanted to post somewhere for a bit of *almost* anonymous advise.

I've been working for my company for over 11 years, part time for my current department for nearly 6 years. Without sounding like I'm bragging, I know my job inside out, I'm confident and I've also been covering my managers work (he passed away in October) since then.

Fast forward to this week, a meeting is called and all of a sudden a member of the team (who has been with the dept for just over 6 months) is suddenly being referred to as "management" in this meeting - every idea that he brings up is something me or my colleagues have brought up in the office previously. It is brought up in this meeting that this man will now be our immediate superior, we are to report to him before going to our (new) manager.

Now aside from the manager completely shirking his responsiblities, the ones of which he was brought in to do. A job has been fabricated within our office for a man with minimal experience and shocking (at best) admin skills. Now he's saying to me, that no promotion has been given to him, but I'm pretty sure that is exactly what has happened.

Am I right in thinking that this "job" should have at least been advertised to give the workers within our office the chance to apply. We have 3 part time workers, one of which is pregnant. Am I right to assume we weren't offered this "job" because of our hours and situation? Am I right to wonder why a male with less experience and qualifications tops a woman with more?

Would you be annoyed in this situation? I need to know what to do in the way of taking it further, should I get details of our responsibilities put down in writing?

Anyone been in a similar situ?

I would have thought that a post like this would need to be advertised internally?

I'm no expert but it sounds a bit dodgy