Staying at home against medical advice.....

Mum22GTTC

Reaction score
What's is going to happen?

I mean I know it's my right to give birth where I want & I know the risks (I have done my research & I'm happy with my decision), so how is this going to pan out when I tell the MW I've decided I will be staying at home and going against their advice?

Hope someone has some experience :flower:

Why do they advice not staying home?
I have no experience to help you out with. Did you sign something from them and does it saying anything about it? Maybe you can sign something for them that says they aren't liable if something does go wrong? If they aren't willing to help you with your birth do you still have time to find someone who can and will help you give birth at home?

Nothing will happen. They might want you to see the consultant so they can try to dissuade you, but you don't have to see or speak to anyone that you don't feel will be supportive of your choices. Just tell them what's happening, and they have to provide exactly the same standard of care to you as they would a woman who was 'compliant'

My mum wanted a home birth with her second after her having first baby in hospital and they said no, so she listened to them (which was actually the right thing to do as my brother was born blue and needed medical attention which wouldn't of been available if she's stayed at home).
With me as the third, again they said no because of her first and second births, so again she listened. With my sister she stood by her guns about having a home birth even though they tried to explain about her other 3 labours weren't great. She ended up having to find her own midwife who'd support her. But she said she wished she hadn't listened to them before as she loved her home birth and wished she could do it again.
I too want a home birth with my baby even if they say they don't think I should. I only will if there are medical reasons why.
What reasons did they give? xx