US Disposable Diapering Families

Margerle

Reaction score
Ok, so I've been talking to DH for the last 4 months (or more) about cloth diapering this LO. I did my research, I crunched the numbers... since I believe quite a bit in CD'ing, I wanted DH to be on board with me. And because there is a good sized layout of cash in the beginning, I did not feel comfortable just making a mommy decision and getting them without his approval.

To add to this, though I believe in CD'ing a lot, I was not going to 'die on this hill' so to speak. Marital peace was worth so much more to me than what the poop catcher on my baby's bottom was made of. So with all that said, this is NOT a cloth diapering debate thread. In fact, this is an information gathering thread (as the CD threads are) for disposable diapers.

I'm positive we'll be getting the bulk of our diapers from Sam's Club and this is their product offering.

Huggies 1's (8-15lbs) are $38 for 264 diapers. The wipes are $15 for 720.

Pampers 1's (swaddlers) are $38 for 216 diapers.

Members Mark (8-15lbs) are $31 for 264 diapers.

So non-CD'ing families... how do these diapers stack up? Do you like one brand vs another?

At this point, I want something that works, and is decent on baby's bottom.

My sister's both have sworn by Huggies. I think that I'm going to use Seventh Generation. I'm like you, I've been debating the cloth diaper thing since I first got pregnant. I'm not going to do it, because I'm afraid of the pins and my Mom will be living with us for the summer and watching the baby two days a week and she doesn't want to deal with cloth.

The seventh generation I found online for $40 for a case of 194, a little more expensive, but not as many chemicals and less plastic.

I know a great cloth nappy that's very similar to a sposie if you are interested. Here sposies are costly. For 108 (Newborn) huggies it is $35-40. For my DD size we only get 72 nappies for that price. Yikes! I miss my cloth :(