What foods to avoid?

rollachick

Reaction score
Hi all.
So im new to this section I'm probably around 5weeks.
Just wondering what foods and drinks are they most important to avoid? Ive had so many things told to me that it seems i cant eat anything atm :wacko:

The most common ones ive been told are:
Caffeine
Alcohol (obvious)
Soft cheese (camembert, brie, feta ect)
Cold meats (ham, pepperoni, cold chicken ect)
Any deli foods
Mayonnaise
Under cooked eggs
Fast food burgers that contain lettuce (apparently the veges can carry salmonella)
Subway sandwiches (same reason as burgers).
Pre bagged lettuce

Any other ideas of what to avoid would be great, want to try and stay as healthy as possible and not eat anything that could harm my baby.

Mayo? Omg I love mayo..I've heard a few of those and tuna. I'm still learning too!

Mayo? Omg I love mayo..I've heard a few of those and tuna. I'm still learning too!

Yea seen its made with eggs apparently its not recommended in the first trimester.
Yea and any seafood is best to avoid.

Oh man..I'm making crab and shrimp pie tom..I'm cravinf it so bad..just a little should be okay huh lol

Caffeine is okay in small doses, no way am I giving up my morning coffee!
I don't see why you can't have bagged lettuce as long as you wash in throughly. You can eat soft cheeses as long as they are cooked (eg on pizza).
Supermarket mayo is fine as it doesn't contain raw eggs.
Hummus should be avoided as tahini can carry listeria. Sushi is big no no. Deli meats are fine if cooked but they're kinda gross anyway so I don't eat them.
Unpasturised milk and yogurt should be avoided :)

Caffeine is okay in small doses, no way am I giving up my morning coffee!
I don't see why you can't have bagged lettuce as long as you wash in throughly. You can eat soft cheeses as long as they are cooked (eg on pizza).
Supermarket mayo is fine as it doesn't contain raw eggs.