When do I start testing on OPKs? Help!!

ashleyg

Mama to three
Reaction score
I started AF May 9. Usually my periods last about 6 days....when do I start testing for positives on an OPK? I've never actually "TTC" before, since my daughter was a surprise! So I'm totally new to actually trying LOL!

According to online calculators it says I should start testing on May 19.
On the two period calendars on my phone, one says my fertile days are May 16-22 & the other calendar says I'm fertile from May 20-25...So I don't know! Any help is soo appreciated!

Unfortunately calculators are only an estimate. Some women do not ovulate when they should according to the online calculators, and actually end up missing their fertile window. Ovulation can also vary between cycle to cycle, even in those that have normal 28 day cycles. I would suggest starting the day after you stop your period. This will make sure you don't miss your fertile period. Amazon sells opks for cheap. I just bought 100 for $15 to stock up on.

I test once a day until it's close to positive then I switch to twice a day.

I'd test twice a day starting at day 8 if using clear blue, i got a positive in the morning on day 9 but obviously didn't ovulate as I then got a positive at 8pm on day 14 and I did ovulate. I would have missed my proper ovulation time had I not checked that night as it was negative that same morning and had turned back negative the following day.

You could also try temping? It'll help confirm ovulation has happened.