When Ranting Goes Too Far

Sarahkka

Mama to Two Fine Boys!
Reaction score
I am very embarrassed to share that yesterday I took the righteous pregnant ranting way too far. I was listening to our local radio and the news had a piece on pigeons becoming a real pest problem and they interviewed this twit of an exterminator who declared that pigeons will have up to 600, 000 offspring in their lifetime.
Now I am a professional naturalist and a complete nature nut and an out of control bird nerd at the best of times, but add a little preggo to the mix and I became a complete madwoman. I obsessed about this fact all day, sure that it must be wrong and that this guy was spreading pigeon falsehoods. I was distracted during prenatal pilates by trying to estimate the reproductive rates of pigeons in my head. And finally, I got home and spent an hour and a half researching pigeons and their mating habits online and cross-referencing them with my hefty collection of bird books. I then sat down and worked out a pigeon reproduction formula and... this is the worst part... rather than confine my insanity to the privacy of my own home, I WROTE A SCATHING EMAIL in to the radio show, telling them what an ignoramus their pigeon exterminator was and challenging him to back up his statement!!!! Oh my god, I think it was about five pages long and included all my calculations and a whole section on Interesting Facts About Pigeons and why extermination isn't the answer.
Today I am blushing to the tips of my ears as I realize how out of control my ranting has become.
I mean, seriously, pigeons?
Not homelessness or world hunger or anything like that?
Nope.
Pigeons and their persecution.
I need help. Is there a support group out there for rantoholics?
Sigh.
Well, maybe the pigeons will get some good out of all this.
They usually read the mail on the air on Friday, so I guess I have a few days before I'll be too embarrassed to step outside.:blush: