Where do I start??

Lulu

1 dude & 1 dudette
Reaction score
Fortunately I've got a few weeks before I need to start as Euan has only just turned 5 months but I'm trying to get my head round what to actually do. So I've got a few questions to ask girls before I send myself round the twist :wacko:

What is the best type of food to begin with, i.e. savoury or sweet? Should I start with just plain baby rice or mix something into it?

I know I should pick a time of day when he's quite calm, not too tired, etc and that each baby is different but when did you find the best time was?

How much did you give your baby the first day/days and how quickly, on average, should I progress to 3 meals a day?

Lastly, why am I getting myself so stressed about this?? :dohh:

Thanks girls :)

I am no expert, but I started solids on our LO last weekend... It's so confusing right now, but I bet in couple of months time we won't even remember why we found it so hard :)

I would recommend picking a time of the day when your LO is in good humour & not too tired or hungry, I started at 10.30 am before his mid-day bottle. I started with plain baby-cereal, which he wasn't impressed with... I reckon more of the food ended up on his clothes than in his mouth :)

This week I introduced pureed apple mixed with the baby cereal and he seems to like that one more...

Good luck & enjoy, it's a great experience to start feeding your LO.

I have just start weaning my LO and i dont really know what Im doin,
I started her on a few spoons of baby rice then a few days of just pain rice i added some puree banana, she loves that..but now i dont really know what the next step is!

HV told me to start with breakfast, then after 10 days add lunch, then after 10 days add dinner... she said their stomach needs to get used to working harder and that its bad to give them dinner first as itll sit in their stomach overnight. :shrug: