Worst tooth pain of my life

Xstwx

Mum to DS & Expecting DD
Reaction score
So I started getting toothache went to the dentist and he said I needed a root canal done but he wasn't happy to do it at this point in my pregnancy (37weeks)
I called my Dr and she said all she can suggest is to take Tylanol.
I can't eat, I can't sleep I am throwing up from the pain. What am I meant to do? Anyone else been through this? I am heading for a melt down at this point!!

I wud go bk to ur dentist Hun and tell them its just too much pain, if women are gettin too distressed with the pain then it benefits to have treatment done (im a dental nurse and even tho we don't usually do work on pregnant ladies, if they are in a lot of pain we do somethin to help!) xx

I would also go back asap. Tooth pain like that is horrendous - I consider it worse than labour pain! It's unrelenting. My dentist will also do dental work on pregnant women if it is causing so many issues. Plus the idea of labour + that tooth pain is pretty miserable. I can't believe they just said to take some tylenol! That won't touch root canal pain IME. Hugs. xoxo

I'd go back because if the infection spreads to the blood it can cause early labor. I just got a root canal I'm 32 weeks and super glad its over.

If you need a root canal, it means you have an infection there. I'm surprised they didn't at least give you a pain med prescription as well as an antibiotic. I've had 3 root canals and a tooth pulled because of abscesses and infection (though none while I've been pregnant) and each time they gave me an antibiotic prescription to take care of the infection before doing the actual tooth repair. I'd go back and get something for pain and the infection at the very least. It's not right that you are in that much pain. If your dentist won't help, then go to your doctor. I'm sure they can give you the antibiotic and a pain med to get you through until after you deliver.