Writing backwards

Natsku

Reaction score
Maria has just got interested in writing so I've been writing words for her to copy but half the time she writes them backwards. The letters are written the right way, but the word goes from right to left. Does the same with writing a list of numbers too. Is this normal? How do I teach her to do it the right way? She can see the right way because I write the word first but still does it backwards.

Hi, I am a school psychologist so I specialize in developmental disabilities.

Writing backwards is very developmentally appropriate so please do not worry about it. It will likely resolve itself. And as silly as it sounds simply mentioning writing left to right is the correct way might be all she needs. You might also write it and have her go over your writing with a highlighter. Or try something meaningful like her name. Also, read it after you write it and then after she writes it. It will help her understand here is purpose behind the letters and order matters.

Thanks, I do it with her name often and she does get that the right way more than other words. I'll try the highlighting thing. Thanks.

Hi, I am a school psychologist so I specialize in developmental disabilities.

Writing backwards is very developmentally appropriate so please do not worry about it. It will likely resolve itself. And as silly as it sounds simply mentioning writing left to right is the correct way might be all she needs. You might also write it and have her go over your writing with a highlighter. Or try something meaningful like her name. Also, read it after you write it and then after she writes it. It will help her understand here is purpose behind the letters and order matters.