Advice for complete newbie considering natural birth

gk1701

Reaction score
Hello everyone: I'm 5 weeks pregnant and thinking about having a natural birth. I have two questions:

1. How bad is the pain?

2. The hospital my current ob/gyn has a 30% c-section rate- will I have a real opportunity to have as natural a birth as possible there or will I be forced to have intervention?

Right now, I'd like to at least try to have a birth with as little intervention as possible- no epidural, forceps, episiotomy etc.

I am completely new to this so any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.

1. It's different for every woman. It's partly under your control. If you are mentally and physically prepared, confident and relaxed it's not that bad. If you move, trust your gut and stay off your back, this helps. It's hard work more than painful. There are ways to minimise any pain and cope with it without drugs. Hypnobirthing, water, aromatherapy, massage, visualisation, vocalisation... I'd say the thing that helped me the most was breathing slowly and deeply and focussing on each breath. That and pushing a little when I felt like it and moving if I felt like it. Crowning can feel like a sort of gradual burn-y, sting-y sensation. That can be soothed by being in water or using warm wet cloths, by staying off your back and pushing as you feel you need to.

2. You have a 1 in 3 chance of walking out of that hospital wuth a scar on your uterus :( which would affect all future pregnancies and births. Those are not good odds. What likely happens at that hospital is that women get all kinds of interventions leading to more interventions ending in a CS. Talk to your OB. Ask how many women are induced, for example. Induction increases the risk of CS. Ask about the epidural rate - another thing that increases the risk of CS. Ask when and why they offer these interventions.

Good luck! Knowledge is power :)