Angel Mom 10-20-11

MissingRyder

Reaction score
My horrible nightmare started last weekend, exactly one week from today. I'm a nurse and used to work on a postpartum floor. I have experience with using dopplers and checking for FHT on pregnant women of all gestations. Friday night my husband and I tried finding the baby's FHT and couldn't find it. He expressed some concern and the nurse I am tried to ease his worries and said it was hiding we would try again. Saturday we tried twice and Sunday once. I'll admit I became worried Saturday a.m. after not finding the heartbeat. I was 17 weeks and new the protocol. At 17 weeks pregnant women are seen in the ER and I preferred to see my doctor. On Monday a.m. I contacted my OB's office and informed them of my worries and they seen me immediately. He instantly did a sono and when I saw the baby on the monitor I knew instantly and begin to cry. My baby had no movement and no heartbeat :( My heart was broken and I had tears streaming down before he even confirmed the news b/c I could see it for myself. I have 3 healthy girls and just never thought anything like this would happen to me. Boy was I wrong and this news was so devestating. Given the different options I chose to deliver by induction but wanted a couple days before we did it. I chose Thursday the 20th and am so thankful for the days I had continued to carry and protect my sweet baby. Some feel weird about carrying a baby that has passed, but I felt this was my only way to keep him longer with me. I left that appointment feeling hopeless and so very sad. This baby was unexpected and initially I'm ashamed to say I wasn't extrememly thrilled. Through time I begin to become excited and couldn't wait till my sono Nov. 1st to find out what the sex was. That evening we told our 3 girls ages 19, 14 and 10. They too were devestated and upset with the news. My next struggles were decisions and no parents should ever have to make them. We chose to have our baby cremated and c