Anyone have experience of preemies born at 31 weeks?

HLx

Mummy to Layla, George & Enzo <3
Reaction score
Thought I'd write here as well just incase I miss someone with good advice. Basically long story short labour is imminent and im doing all I can to keep him in, the labour signs and symptoms are there, if my waters go of I actually start to dilate now babys basically coming whether I want him to or not. Problem is I'm only 31 weeks today!

Any advice from anyone who's gone through this before? My previous two were full term babies and I have no experience or knowledge in preemies.

I had 2 of the 3 at 36wks. A little ahead of you but still experience!
#1 was 6.3lbs and NO nicu time
#2 was 5.8lbd and had 2 weeks in the NICU. She needed help breathing and eating.
Both were csection (not elective)

My biggest advice would be get involved in the care. You'll be tired going every few hours but it really helps to know what's going on. Sometimes things can change from 1 visit to the next. Ask questions. Why are they doing xyz, can you do abc instead of them...etc DONT allow visitors in the NICU. Oh my word, it made it so overwhelming to do. Grandma, aunt, friend, church, etc can wait until baby is home!! Be prepared for the ups and downs emotionally. There will be times you feel you failed and cant help your baby, that's normal. Be prepared to praise your baby for a good day with happy tears.

That's my advice.

Last edited: