Anyone in nursing school?

MrsGax

Reaction score
Hi! I am currently taking pathophysiology and epidemiology and I start my core fundamentals of nursing classes next month! :happydance: I am extremely excited as I have been waiting for this since I was 16 but I am TERRIFIED at the same time. I know nursing is not for everyone and it is HARD, messy work, but I hope I love it. Any nursing students/nurses out there? I hope I have the passion I have now once I am actually a nurse. I have a sister in law that is not exactly fond of her job as a RN and it makes me nervous to be honest. Anyways, thank you for reading and if you have ANY tips/tricks/advice for getting through school and while being a RN, I will appreciate it!

I'm and RN and while there are many days that I get frustrated with my job and the facility I work at, I do still love being a nurse. I worked in a small community hospital for 3 years and now work in a long term care facility on a short term rehab unit. We get a lot of post surgical patients. Nursing is definitely not for everyone and the schooling is not easy.

I would suggest getting as many pre-requisites and electives done before the nursing courses. When I went to school I did everything before hand or over the summer in between my years of nursing. Don't get frustrated right away when you're done either. It takes awhile to get used to everything. I would suggest working in a hospital for at least 1 year even if that's not what you want to do long term. It will help you learn all the skills you need and improve on ones you learned in school.

Is there a certain field of nursing you want to work in?

I'm a 3rrd year student nurse, currently on Mat leave. I'll qualify next September :)