Awaiting a educational designation

KateNicola

1 BooBear 1 Button
Reaction score
I am having a lot of difficulty dealing with the issues that my son is presenting at Kindergarten. He received a speech delay designation at age 2, but that has corrected itself. But behaviourally, he is regressing and getting worse. He has become THAT kid in the classroom. This is especially difficult for me, as I am also a teacher.
He was asked to stay home today, so they can put some supports in place. He loves school, to the point that he dislikes home time. He knows his alphabet, numbers and enjoys playing with friends. The issues are that he rarely does what the rest of the class is doing, throws tantrums (which involve smacking his head on the floor), running out of the classroom and pushing the teacher or LSW when they try to stop him. The smacking his head on the floor is a regression that we think is due to the change in schedule and some dethronement due to his younger sister, as he was pretty much 'cured' of this months ago. He has started headbutting his teacher, a habit that we thought was good and dead.
The reason I am sharing this here. is that we live in a small northern community, and though we have been here for a year and a bit, we have not made any really close connections with anyone. I like my co-workers, but I am anxious about the judgments that will arise. (I live very much in fear of what other people think of me) Parental units have tried to give advice, but sadly, none of them have had to deal with any of this themselves.
I do not like the feeling of "what hell is he going to put his teacher through today?" every time I drop him off. I dread when my phone rings during the school day, praying that it's not the school. I hate thinking that my child is broken.