• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Baby carrier for newborn

chezababy

New mummy to baby girl
Reaction score
I've just found out I'm expecting my 2nd lo. I'd like to get a carrier/wrap to avoid getting a double pushchair and for use when playing with my eldest etc. I never used one with my dd. The baby is due in December so I'll need to be able to keep lo warm and dry in the carrier (I'm in the UK). I'd like some advice about which carrier could be suitable. I don't want to spend over £100, it must be suitable for a newborn and I prefer the look of carriers as I don't like the idea of folds of fabric around the baby's face. I am a complete novice though so I'd be grateful for any advice. Ideas on how to keep lo warm and dry are also appreciated. Thank you

I bought two Boba wraps, they are good for newborn up to toddler holds! They were pretty cheap compared to the other brands too. Check them out, Im in Canada but they are made in Colorado, USA. :)

You could probably get a ring sling for less than that (I'm not positive how much things cost in the UK as opposed to the US). If you don't mind wrapping you should be able to make your own stretchy wrap with jersey fabric. I don't think you even have to hem it.

Also, if you check facebook there should be some groups that are specific to the UK where you can buy carriers used.

I prefer woven wraps for babies but since you said you may be uncomfortable with too much fabric, perhaps a ring sling would be good for you. Then you could move on to a ssc when the baby is bigger.

Storked, I have a Farrand Fuschia too :) I heart Pavo!!