Can we talk pumps?

Pers

Reaction score
So I am a FTM in the US who will be heading back to work much too soon! Fortunately I work in a hospital and ythey provide a pumping room with a hospital grade breast pump for employee use. However, I need something for home use as well. My insurance will cover the purchase of a double electric pump but not the rental of a hospital grade one (which would have been my first choice). So my options are the Ameda Purely Yours, Hygeia Q and Medela Advanced. I may be able to find another style Medella as well but that one I know is an option.

The lactation consultant at the hospital doesn't recommend the Medella because the milk can back up in the tubing and if that happens, there is no way to remove it from the machine. Not gonna lie, the idea of moldy milk growing in the machine I use to provide food for my daughter grosses me out. I know many women say it's never been an issue for them though and there lies the rub, is it worth the risk? The Ameda and Hygeia don't have that issue.

The Hygeia Q is one I had never heard of but she highly recommended it. It is also the one recommended by Le Leche League. It has been difficult to find reviews of that particular model since it is only available to insurance companies and government agencies. I think it may be the one provided by WIC?

Ameda is the brand the hospital uses but obviously those are hospital grade pumps while I would be getting one rated for personal use.

The women I know pretty much all went with Medella but that is also the one that ois most widely available in our area and none of them got theirs through insurance (so the Hygeia wasn't even an option).

Anyone used any of these or have some helpful insight? I don't want to get one and hate it because then I will have to pay out of pocket for a new one! Which also makes me think I should go for the most expensive option (Medella) because then if I pay pout of pocket at least I won't have to buy that one!