Can you tell if your boobies are empty?

Discussion in 'Breastfeeding' started by Chellebelle, Apr 12, 2009.

1. Chellebelle

Chellebelle mummy to Simeon

I got Simeon weighed last week, and he has always been on the dark middle line in the little red book, but when I got him weighed last week he has dropped under it. The health visitor said not to worry and "you don't want a fat baby anyway do you" but I have been worrying that I am no longer producing enough milk or I am just not feeding him enough.

Since then, I have found myself getting back into feeding every chance I get during the day and when he has his last big feed before bed, I worry that he isn't getting enough. He feeds for about 10 mins, then crys and I feel like he has emptied one side, so he goes on the other, and it is the same again.

This might sound silly, but is there a way that you can tell if your boobs are 'empty'? :blush: if I know that they are then I might try offering him a bottle to complementary feed at night, but if they aren't then I know that he is just being fussy and a bit colicky.

2. Mervs Mum

Mervs Mum Doula & Mum of 3!

Mine feel exactly the same all the time now....I think at 3 months they wont be filling and emptying the same now - they will produce on demand. Mine only feel 'full' first thing in the morning now....and even then they arent hard or nobbly anymore :(

Have you seen the WHO BF based charts at the top of the board?

3. Beltane

Beltane Mother of 3 Boys!

Mine almost always feel empty but then before I know it, it's like a sprinkler all over the place. My ta-ta's are totally messing with me.

4. Chel

Chel Well-Known Member

I can usually tell cos I've just shrunk from a DD cup to a C cup!

Also, watching Jasper feed... the suck to swallow ratio goes up as the boobie empties.

At the start of the feed he's going *suck* *swallow* *suck* *swallow* *suck* *swallow*

And when the boobie is empty he goes *suck* *suck *suck*.... *suck* *suck*.... *swallow*...