Cleft palate? When will my little boy get some luck?

whistle

Reaction score
Sorry to sign up just to have a rant. I've been reading the forum for a few weeks now, but today is just one of those bad days.

LO was born at 24+6, 800g, after a horrible 3 weeks of bleeding, surgery and bedrest. His twin brother fought hard but passed on at 8 hours old. Our eldest survived though, through sepsis, bleeding on the brain, bleeding in the lungs and an unclosed valve in his heart, along with all the usual troubles with his kidneys, more blood transfusions than I can remember etc etc.

He spent a month in intensive care and then moved up to HDU. He's 10 weeks old now and looks like a completely different person.

So at about 8 weeks old we *finally* get to try breastfeeding. This was something I've so been looking forward to since early pregnancy. I've been pumping every 3-6 hours for over 2 months now, despite wanting to throw the damn pump out the window 3 or 4 times a day.

Only now I've noticed a deep groove down the middle of his palate, and after a week and a half of trying, he's just not getting it. He sucks a finger really well, but just can't work out what to do with a boob.

I asked the doc today and he examines LO's mouth, mumbling cleft palate, and says that he thinks he's got a hole in the cartilage, but that the skin over the top is intact. He doesn't think it's a problem at the moment, and it shouldn't affect BF. The nurse though, later on, obviously trying to be nice says 'Sometimes babies have an abnormal palate and it's fine, it just means they can't breastfeed and have to have a bottle.'