Dilemma

ladywife

Reaction score
Hello WTT sisters, I'm having a dilemma. Things are almost right to start TTC but we're being held back for a few reasons and it's driving me craaaazy.

Dh has said we can start trying as soon as I quit smoking and I'm totally on board with that, I want to be as healthy as possible for baby. But my problem is that I'm currently extremely stressed out and very dissatisfied with my current job. I'm a preschool teacher and this year has been super hard on me, every day I leave work not only do I feel like crawling into a blanket and hibernating and or sobbing straight for the next 6 months, I also expend 100% of my energy both mentally and physically every day that I'm there to where I'm literally a zombie every day. While I had been down to only a few smokes a day, I'm now way back up because of stress. I'm also coming down sick every other week now too.

The preschool has made certain changes this year that have made all the difference in the quality of work there and have made it clear they'd rather skrimp on their budget than provide teachers the quality and appreciation they deserve. Well, what if I find anothet job? I'm living over seas and that isn't exactly very easy. I don't necessarily need to work and I always knew that I wanted to be a stay at home mommy, but my in laws put a lot of pressure on me to stay employed even if I'm miserable doing it.

So my dilemma is this, continue working in a toxic environment or quit and stay at home to focus on getting healthy to TTC. If I stay at home I'm afraid life will become a little meaningless, I don't have many friends and my driving license hasn't been issued yet. I don't want to go stir crazy. At the same time, I don't want to possibly start a new job and then have to deal with my first pregnancy and potential maternity leave.