Do parents always know?

Sakura-chan

Reaction score
Hi

I am new to this part but have been reading some other posts over the last couple of weeks.

My older son is almost 20 months old and in the last couple of months I have started to get a bit worried about his development.

He reached all of his milestones on time or early- sitting at 4 months, creeping at 5 months, full blown crawling by 7 months and walking properly by 11 months first word before age 1 and physical milestones have always been good- he is a fantastic climber and can run quite fast for his age.

I should point out the last 7 months have been a bit rough on us all- We were in my home country, Australia for 2 months, came back to Japan and then I gave birth to his baby brother 2 months early {when he was 12 months old} and came home when he was 15 months old {but we had stayed with the in-laws a bit during this time and I left him each day to go to the hospital for a couple of hours} Then March 11 we had a very big earthquake in Japan- it was a really stressful time for us all and we had numerous aftershocks that first month and still getting a few large ones now. There was threats of power cuts and more and in the end I took both boys to stay with a friend for a bit before we came back to Tokyo/Chiba.

We then moved house.

He has not dealt with his brother so well- I guess that was to be expected though considering his age. He had to grow up fast I guess.

In the last couple of months his language skills have gone backwards- he has always been a bit behind with language but at one stage he had about 12 words...since 16 months though he has gone back to having only 3 words. Currently his words are go, down and will say "ta" when prompted if I am giving him something. The words he has "lost" are all nouns- dog, ball, star, mama, daddy {he still say daa for daddy sometimes}

He is in a bilingual environment- his only Japanese word {at one stage} was Jiji which means grandfather.