Do you get anything from your boss?

Pearls18

Reaction score
I'm new to being a manager this year and wonder if I should be getting a little something for my employees? I only have 4 staff, 1 in particular has had a very tough time and worked really hard but I can't buy for one and not all. I've not really been given anything in the past, have you guys been given anything? If you have employees do you do anything? Thanks.

Our boss gets everyone a small gift card to the local grocery store. It's not much, but it helps with getting some of the holiday meal stuff, so its a very nice gesture.

When I worked, my boss used to get us something like a box of chocolates or bottle of wine.

My hubby and I are both self employed me as a writer so there's no one hiring me as such, he as a gardener. He usually gets a 'bonus' from the people he works for. Just a little something extra the last week before Christmas in the envelope with his money.

My boss doesn't get me anything. For my staff I usually bring in some homemade goodies for them to enjoy. I enjoy making them and they enjoy eating them, so win win

my boss gives us a €200 gift card

I had one boss once that got us candles. That was really sweet. Otherwise I've never gotten anything from bosses, though did always get holiday bonuses from the company.

When I worked full time we got a annual bonus at Christmas and my boss sometimes got me a gift like bag, candle, wine etc. We also had a staff Christmas party that was all paid for by the company (my sister used to pay for her own Christmas party!)

Now I work for one person part time and he sometimes pays me a little extra, last year he got us a family day out to a local theme park which is really nice and thoughtful. I got him a bottle of wine.

I'm a manager and I buy each of my staff a selection box because who wants to grow up. I norms get a tin of chocs for the store aswell