Do your toddlers actually paint?

lau86

Reaction score
I feel like I should let him paint but within about 30 seconds it's dissolved into chaos and paint tasting. The colours are all mixed into one and the paint is soaked through and coming apart. Is this what they all do or am I going wrong somewhere... I should say I'm no artist so I can't exactly lead the way!!

I think it's just par for the course. I had DD finger painting a couple days ago and yes, she tried to eat some, and yes, her pictures were pretty much just blobs of mixed together colors, it's normal. :D I tried to make it educational by pointing out the names of each color she picked up and she did repeat some of the color names so I have hopes that some of it got in. I think kids this age just really enjoy the sensory experience of painting.

Honestly, I find it more trouble than it's worth and don't bother. I feel guilty but I'm sure we do plenty of other stuff without it being an issue that I never get the paints out.

Simple as it sounds, have you tried sitting with LO and doing your "own" painting and encouraging LO to copy you.

we love to paint, although maci usually ends up highlighting her hair blue or something!

I let my dd paint but I control it. I only give her one color at a time, and I sit with her the whole time so if she tries to eat it I say no we don't eat paint and redirect her back to the paper. She enjoys it but only for maybe 5 minutes, so it's not something we can make an afternoon of. Once I can tell she's bored with it or starting to just be crazy, I say "okay, all done" and I take it away. I think right now she's a little young for it. Maybe in another year she'll start to actually paint "things" because right now she just slaps the paint on the paper, or goes in circles, same that she does with crayons.